page contents
 
I would love to hear your thoughts and comments about Math Workshop.  How can I help make Math Workshop a part of your classroom?  What information would you like me to include on my site?  Looking forward to hearing from you!
Jackie
9/13/2010 10:01:30 am

This is a great website, Alice! Thanks for including a section about "getting started" ~ very helpful. I would love to see short clips/videos of math workshop in action. Thanks!

Reply
9/19/2010 02:48:01 am

I teach EM Grade 3 and even though it's my 26th year of teaching, it's my first year teaching Grade 3 and EM. Your website is very helpful. My question is..."How do you manage everything for the math workshop if you are not allowed to have parent volunteers or anyone else in your room to help with organization, students, or preparation of materials? It's a bit overwhelming even for an experienced teacher. THANKS!

Reply
Cathie
9/21/2010 02:28:30 am

Getting ready to start Math Workshop for Unit 2 of EDM with my third grades. I am going to need some sophisticated enrichment. Any suggestions?

Reply
Andrea
9/25/2010 12:10:46 am

Reply
Andrea
9/25/2010 12:13:29 am

Sorry my last post didn't work!

I taught EDM with my 2nd Grade last year and I did it very whole class. This year I started Unit 1 the same way, but I feel this just isn't effective. Is it OK to start Unit 2 with the workshop model? Will I overwhelm the students with a new way? Any suggestions on how I can implement this new way to them, since they are starting to get used to my whole class method?

Reply
10/19/2010 12:59:13 pm

Wow, that you are impressive. I’ve been following factors of this remarkably rigid instruction system and I didn't even know! I've to become a all-natural no shock I appear and sense astounding a good deal around the time. It will bechallenging changing into this astounding is just not it!

Reply
10/21/2010 01:58:26 pm

To trust myself, and believe everything nice!

Reply
Leah
10/24/2010 07:18:59 am

I LOVE the idea of doing the math workshop and want so badly to make it work in my classroom. The problem I have is that we only have 45 minutes for math each day. Do you have any suggestions for how to do this in that amount of time? I wish I could devote more time to math (it was my major in college), but it is not there. Thank you!!!

Reply
Tessa
11/2/2010 11:00:42 am

I love your Math Workshop approach! I've been looking for ways to better differentiate my EDM lessons for years. I noticed that you have 3rd and 5th grade lessons on your site for review. I was wondering if there were any additional (younger) grade levels that you have tried this with? Thanks for sharing this great idea!!

Reply
Working Hard to Help My Students
11/4/2010 02:54:00 pm

Hello! I love this site - it is a great motivator to keep me going with my math workshops. I have three groups that I place based on the unit preview assessments. Then I rotate them - my lower group begins with me then moves to work on the math journal page, another group comes my way and then another. Tasks include math games, math journal pages and extension exercises for those that are ready for more challenge. I do not include the mini lesson part - I usually save that for part of my teacher led rotation per group, but I think that I'll include that and see what happens. I've got some teachers coming in to see my rotation system, and since I'm so new at it, I'm a bit nervous, but at least I'm trying (and many of my students seem to enjoy it)
I'm looking forward to visiting your site often!

Reply
11/7/2010 07:09:05 am

Hi Tessa,
I actually started math workshop when I taught 2nd grade. I moved to 3rd grade 2 years ago and brought math workshop with me. All the 1st, 2nd and 3rd grade teachers at my school do a math workshop. Many 4th and 5th grade teachers in my districy are using it too. What grade level do you teach?

Reply
11/7/2010 07:53:37 am

To: Working Hard to Help my Students

I think you will like doing a short mini lesson. I always start or incorporate a question in my mini lesson. What do you notice? What patterns do you see? How is this like...? That lets me know how much or little they know and directs my rotation lesson. If you have not read "Getting to Got It" by Betty Garner, I highly recommend it. It is not a math book but a book to make the most of your teaching.

Reply
Tessa
11/8/2010 06:45:34 am

Hi Alice, thanks for the response! I teach first grade. I tried my very first math workshop today and it was a bust!! I know it just means I need to rethink the way it is structured. My lowest group had trouble working on the math book page independently (actually, they were with partners!!), even after our teacher-led meeting beforehand. I'm thinking the lower group teacher time should be spent on the math journal page and then they should review skills they have already learned during their independent time. Are there any tricks when working with young students? They have trouble reading/remembering directions let alone the math thinking they have to do!! I really love the idea of the math workshop so I'm going to keep trying until I get it right!!

Reply
11/11/2010 09:48:03 am

"Ant family, " revealed the industrialization of education is a direct manufacturing factors of disharmony.

Reply
11/16/2010 04:36:42 pm


Yes. i like this clothes. it is fashion. This kind of cloth feels soft.The cloth has a chequer pattern.Ministor:Majesty, A wise man such as yourself can surely see the colours and sheen of this magical cloth.

Reply
11/16/2010 04:38:07 pm


Yes. i like this clothes. it is fashion. This kind of cloth feels soft.The cloth has a chequer pattern.Ministor:Majesty, A wise man such as yourself can surely see the colours and sheen of this magical cloth.

Reply
11/24/2010 02:17:00 pm

The greatest happiness is to work for education.

Reply
11/24/2010 04:14:50 pm

I have a great admiramation for you,you know since your ariticle is fluent and of enough content expression.

Reply
11/25/2010 08:48:55 am

What a nice day!

Reply
11/28/2010 02:05:47 pm

Happiness depends on our attitudes to life

Reply
12/7/2010 09:14:39 am

Cabo bendiciones, un amigo de enriquecimiento todos desea! *

Reply
12/8/2010 09:50:03 am

L’homme qui sait réféchir est celui qui a la force illimitée.

Reply
12/9/2010 10:32:58 am

it's been a great day!*

Reply
12/12/2010 09:17:45 am

Realmente me gusta. Gracias por compartir con nosotros. *

Reply
12/19/2010 04:29:34 pm

good infor, i like it.

Reply
1/12/2011 09:10:38 am

Great post, nice.

Reply
1/14/2011 01:52:42 pm

I have always found that if I move with 75% or more of the facts, I usually never regret it. It's the guys who wait to have everything perfect that drive you crazy

Reply
1/16/2011 04:31:38 pm

The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.

Reply
Seattle Teacher
2/7/2011 10:32:45 am

Hello - I love this website and look forward to constantly improving the math workshop model in my classroom. My question is...noise. How much noise should I expect during math workshop? I know that math workshop offers greater opportunity to play the math games (we use EDM as well), and engage in partner work, etc., but when I work with my small group, it seems like the noise around me is too much. Our math coach says that I should get used to some noise as this is a "workshop", but I wonder...your thoughts?

Reply
2/20/2011 11:59:17 am

Going on your remarkable writings, I realize it is of the extraordinary experience and suitable thoughts.Think that I will certainly receive which I really want coming from your blogs.Best Regards!

Reply
2/21/2011 08:14:13 am

Great content and it's so helpful for me. But it's so weird that you blog is in a mess through my explorer. Is that my explorer problem? But it's pretty normal when exploring other blog.

Reply
2/28/2011 10:43:59 am

Certain characteristics of modern life may drive evolutionary change that does not make us fitter for survival—or that even makes us less fit.

Reply
3/1/2011 02:46:07 pm

A picture is a poem without words.

Reply
3/10/2011 01:01:23 pm

Your blog is so great . I'd like to read the information about it, so how does it work? Do you want to know the MBT shoes ? MBT shoes on hot sale !

Reply
3/11/2011 04:09:52 pm

Keeping in a good humor is very important for your health.

Reply
Christy
3/12/2011 05:13:11 am

I have been working for a couple of months in third grade and was wondering how you do the grading? Do you have a cheklist that shows their improvement during the week and do you ever send practice home or have them worrk indivuidually to assess further? Do they work with you modeled, guided and then independant at the table with you?

Reply
Erica
3/25/2011 08:08:06 am

Hello! I am intrigued by the math workshop idea. I teach second grade and it is overwhelming to think about in the beginning phase. Do you have any second grade plans you're willing to share to get me started next year? Also, how do you grade and track their progress? EDM has daily HomeLinks I send home. Keeping up with our math, whole class, and checking homework daily is overwhelming in itself. How do you organize and track all of your papers for the different areas?

Reply
3/30/2011 04:53:59 pm


I find it incredible that more blogs and forums are not as pleasant as this one. Often times when I land on a website page the articles and other content is so deficient that I move on without delay. That is not the case here. Thanks so much.

Reply
4/5/2011 04:59:32 pm

Well, this is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a marvelous job!

Reply
Ms. Math Teacher
4/27/2011 09:31:43 am

I am looking at trying to set up this model in 5th grade for next year. I will teach 2 sections of math. I see a link for grade 5 EDM lessons, but it says under construction. Do you or someone at your school have any grade 5 lessons that you'd be willing to share. I am trying to picture how it would look. Thanks for sharing. :)

Reply
4/30/2011 10:03:49 pm

How long ago did they live? What were they like? Were they really dim witted brutes who were outwitted by our ancestors, and doomed to extinction?

Reply
6/12/2011 07:55:10 pm

Every once in a while we choose blogs that we read. Listed below are the latest sites that we choose

Reply
5th grade math teacher
7/12/2011 12:16:39 am

I am a 5th grade math teacher and I would like to implement the math workshop in my classroom. I also use Everyday Math, so I was wondering when you will have the 5th grade EDM link up and running? Thanks!

Reply
Julie
7/26/2011 04:48:02 am

What does EDM stand for?

Reply
Judy Connell
8/5/2011 04:57:05 am

I have loved looking at your website and have found it very helpful. I am excited to start this model this year. Let me know of any helpful suggestions you have for setting up the routines, expectations, etc.as I think those are the key in making it a success. Judy

Reply
Jennifer- Kindergarten
8/9/2011 12:31:40 pm

I am a kindergarten teacher and I am very interested in the math workshop structures. Have you seen a math workshop implemented in a kindergarten classroom? If so, do you have any suggestions for things that have worked well? Thanks, Jennifer

Reply
Rebecca - 3rd grade
8/21/2011 09:41:34 am

I'm wondering about how to implement Math Workshop with only 60 minutes available. When do you assign the Home Links pages? Do you grade anything in the rotation?

Reply
sherri thomas
8/24/2011 07:30:23 am

Hi Alice,
I was just wondering where do you teach? You mentioned Oakland Schools. I'm in Hazel Park. If you are not too far away, I'd love to come observe your classroom.

Thanks!

Reply
Lori
10/19/2011 10:05:15 am

You are amazing! I teach third grade, and am loving your edm lesson plans! Do they stop at Unit 3, or is Unit 4 somewhere else and I just can't find it on your site? Thanks so much for sharing your fabulous work!

Reply
Traci
10/30/2011 09:00:40 am

Alice, I was just reading about your math workshop and love the idea! I was just wondering what the other students are doing while you are working with a group. Are they working on a math game, working on enrichment from the skills taught previously, or what? I would really love to see how this all comes together...

Reply
Meg
11/28/2011 05:14:30 am

I am really enjoying using your plans with my class. I am wondering if you are going to post each unit's plans as you go. I am starting Unit 4 and wishing that I could compare my plans with yours.
Thanks for all your hard work!
[email protected]

Reply
Ilene Novy
12/2/2011 11:00:44 pm

Alice, I wrote to your email yesterday - please disregard b/c I found your blog so helpful! Here are my remaining questions:
1) Do you use a math journal in addition to the EM Journal
2) What do you take as a grade...and how often?
3) How do you supplement the Open Response (Problem Solving) portion of EM math - I find that the kids need MORE practice or they have difficulty during the assessment.

I am going to try to implement table captains pronto!!! Thank you -

Reply
12/20/2011 03:30:41 am

Alice,
I teach a first/second grade split class and run my entire morning as an ELA workshop. I knew I needed to do the same for math, but couldn't wrap my head around how.

Your approach gave me one of those, "Aha! Duh!" moments...you know the kind..."Aha! That's brilliant," followed immediately by, "Duh. It is so simple." Thank you for clearing my clouded vision of what math workshop can look like for my 12 second and 16 first graders.

In sincere gratitude,

James Haldane

Reply
Sue
2/16/2012 12:40:20 am

Do you know of anyone who is using the math workshop model in Wisconsin? We would appreciate having a place to go and observe this process.

Reply
Karen
2/18/2012 01:15:34 am

Hello. I'm so interested in the workshop model, not only for math, but for reading and writing as well. Can you or any of your readers point me towards research supporting positive effects of workshops on students? It would help to convince others in my building that it's the way to go. Thanks!

Reply
2/20/2012 09:51:08 am

This is a great inspiring piece of writing. I am beautiful to a large extent content by means of your high-quality work. You put in fact awfully obliging information. be it up. be blogging Looking to appraisal your subsequently post.

Reply
3/23/2012 03:53:35 pm

Truth is beautiful. Without doubt, and so are lies
.

Reply
3/29/2012 02:47:19 pm

Very glad to see your blog, thank you share so many interesting things. Hope that in the future can see you day published more interesting!

Reply
4/5/2012 02:42:08 pm

Your Blog is very good, I like it! Thank you for you sharing!Your blog is really helps for my search and i really like it.

Reply
4/10/2012 11:34:24 am

This is a great post ! it was very informative. I look forward in reading more of your work. Also, I made sure to bookmark your website so I can come back later. I enjoyed every moment of reading it.

Reply
5/1/2012 06:32:22 pm

You did really job on your blog,i love your blog style,and how you make your point on this article ,cool.

Reply
5/9/2012 10:10:52 am

Modern city girl in early summer season like choose design grace, unique design of wide brim cap to assist modelling, choose to a top fashionable hat will not only for modelling brocade, still can bring good physical prevent bask in the effect.

Reply
5/9/2012 11:52:57 am

I'm very glad to see your blog, I like it very much of this style, appreciate oh!

Reply
5/30/2012 11:03:48 am

This paragraph of cap of camel's hair, black belt that hat vivid rise, tie-in snow spins dress and bud silk coat, show the elegant fair maiden temperament.

Reply
5/30/2012 01:28:31 pm

Is my first time to visit your blog, looks like perfect, keep going.

Reply
solarin michael
6/20/2012 05:12:59 am

This sounds great but I stii want to know more of what you do

Reply
7/1/2012 03:58:33 pm

Your article is very interesting and humorous. From your article, I can see the true meaning of the word happy. This article, I believe many people are helpful. Very fortunate to share this article to your. Look forward to your updates.

Reply
7/5/2012 12:13:05 pm

Hey~~I have never seen you update your blog.and how you been now.Looking forward you new post. http://www.fashion-caps.com/

Reply
7/6/2012 01:07:01 pm

joy and pain are of their choice, god will not give us happy, also not to give us a pain, it will only give us happiness. You can choose a happy ways to look at it, also can choose a painful perspective on it.

Reply
Brenda
7/24/2012 09:54:03 pm

Can I get trained on math workshop yet this summer????

Reply
Stacey
9/11/2012 06:11:47 am

I love the lesson plans that you have created on here for Grade 3 EDM!! Do you have more??

Reply
Dennise
3/16/2013 06:37:03 am

Where can I find EDM 4th grade workshop lessons? Thank you.

Reply
3/16/2013 03:46:09 pm

Hi Dennise,
I think you will find that it is very easy to create your own workshop lessons using EDM. Your launch can be a shortened version of the whole class activity. Sometimes the Math Message lends itself to a launch. Just remember this should be the "meat" of your lesson and not be more than 5 to 15 minutes. Your rotations can come right from the lesson. Teacher led rotation is taken from the partner activity or the journal page(s) that match the key concept. Your other rotations can be Math Boxes done with a partner, games from that unit, the readiness activities and enrichment activities. You can also have students working on fact practice, simple measuring tasks, or concepts they need to practice. Your reflection can be sharing multiple ways a problem was solved, students answering what they now understand from this lesson or how these concept are used in real life. Once you start adapting the EDM lesson to a workshop formula you will see how easy and quick it can be. Plus, you only have to write them once and you have them for years to come. Good luck!

Reply
Jeanneane Theiss
6/14/2013 05:16:44 am

Thank you for all of your information on how to do a math workshop. I teach 6th grade math where I have 4 classes that are 50 - 55 minutes. Do you have any suggestions on how to do that many different workshops? I also don't use Everyday Math. I use Carnegie. I really want to do this. There has to be a way! Thank you!

Reply
8/18/2013 03:54:55 pm

Thank you so much for your information. I did this in Hong Kong with Everyday Math. I'm now teaching in Alaska and we use the Math in Focus (Singapore Approach). Do you know anyone else using workshop model with MIF? I would love to team up with them. Please contact me at: [email protected]

Reply
Maria Halsey
9/1/2013 12:22:29 am

This looks like such a great method to use differentiated instruction within my Sp. Ed. classroom. You said you are from Oakland County - in Michigan correct? If so, how can I make arrangements to come out and visit your classroom to see this in action?

Reply
Christine
11/2/2015 09:18:42 am

have you started using math program yet? We are using enVision and I wondered if you had any experience using it with this program yet?

Reply
Debby McLean
2/5/2016 01:08:09 pm

Would love to chat with you about math workshop and EM. Please let me know if that works for you. I am an administrator in an independent school-we have begun to roll out math workshop and are toying with switching textbooks (currently EM)

Reply
Christine
2/5/2016 02:49:51 pm

Sure. My email is [email protected]

Reply
Sheila Hall
9/30/2016 10:59:16 am

I have implemented math workshop and the only thing I struggle with is when students leave the teacher station they go to the independent practice to work. What do I do if it's time to rotate to another station and the students didn't complete their independent work?

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I have been teaching for seventeen years.  This is my 8th year using a math workshop format in my classroom.  I am currently teaching 3rd grade.  I have presented the Math Workshop format I designed to many districts.  I have had teachers from districts all over Oakland County observe Math Workshop in action in my classroom.  I am excited to see math workshop continue to grow in popularity.  I hope this site iwill help to answer your questions about Math Workshop

    Archives

    September 2010

    Categories

    All